Peachy Haiku

I found this haiku prompt at Carpe Diem: A Daily Haiku Meme.  The prompt #292 is on Momo (Peach).  With a little research, I discovered that in Chinese mythology, the peach was eaten by immortals because it mystically prolonged your life.  The peach is a symbol for a long and healthy life in China.

Google images

Google images

In tastes of a peach
China’s immortality
Eat, live forever

Google images

Google images

Like a newborn, soft
Peaches are covered in fuzz
Smoothness and sweetness

4 Comments

  1. I wasn’t aware of that deeper meaning of the peach, which I surely would have used in my own haiku for this prompt. Well written and welcome at Carpe Diem. I am your host there. My name is Kristjaan and my penname is Chèvrefeuille.

    • It’s nice to meet you! I really enjoy your website!

Trackbacks

  1. Childhood Peach ~ for Carpe Diem Early Autumn Kigo #292, Momo (peach) – Haiga | A 19 Planets Art Blog 2010/2013
  2. Haiku: Catching Up Time… | merlinspielen

Leave a Reply

