Stepping Stones Haiku

SouthardBW

I found this haiku prompt at Carpe Diem: A Daily Haiku Meme.  The prompt #56- a Carpe Diem Special.

The featured haiku poet for this month is O. Mabson Southard. The goal of the Specials is to write a new haiku/senryu in the same tone, sense and spirit as the one given by the featured haiku poet.  Southard wrote his haiku with the classical 5-7-5 syllable count and used punctuation.  Here is the given example:

In the garden pool,
dark and still, a steppingstone
releases the moon.

After reading this, I was inspired to write:

On the stepping stones,

My feet dance as my mind dreams

of moonbeams and stars.

Google images

Google images

3 Comments

  1. WOW!! “My feet dance as my mind dreams” what a wonderful line … really well done.

Trackbacks

  1. For The Love Of Haiku 32 “DNA” – allaboutlemon-All Around, In, And Out Of My Own Universe
  2. dessert haikus | Artsy Wanderer

Leave a Reply

